top of page
Proudly Endorsed by
Freakshow Amplification.png

TRAWL is: 
Sean Matthews - Vocals

Seth McClellan - Bass

Justin Patry - Guitars 

Adam Nichols - Drums

From the murky depths comes TRAWL, a Portland, Maine-based funk metal band with bite.

With deep grooves and heavy down-tuned riffs, this hard-hitting four-piece has no shortage of catchy hooks. Paired with an in-your-face live show, TRAWL has sunken its teeth into the New England rock and metal scene. The band has released 3 EPs to date. Their latest EP, "Cosmic Aquatic," was the #1 best-selling local release of the year at Bull Moose record stores in 2023 (a network of 11 brick-and-mortar stores across Maine and New Hampshire). Trawl has recently supported acts like Anthrax, Black Label Society, Nonpoint, Taproot, Ra, Black Stone Cherry and more.  


TRAWL was formed in June 2018 by bassist Seth McClellan to start a new musical brotherhood between friends and like-minded veterans of the New England music scene.

The band released its first two singles in 2019, 'Vertigo' (November 1st) and 'Carcharodon' (March 8th). Kevin Billingslea recorded the songs at The Halo Studios in Windham, ME. The band cut its teeth playing live shows across New England right up until the COVID-19 pandemic. Shortly thereafter, original guitarist Tom Michaud amicably parted ways with the band. 


TRAWL pivoted during the downtime in 2020 to stay productive. Singer Sean Matthews and Bassist Seth McClellan started a podcast titled TrawlCast that focuses on local and regional music discussion, band interviews and more. 

Once it was safe to get back in the water, TRAWL also began production on what would become their "Shark Pinata" EP, released on March 8th, 2021.  The songs for the EP were recorded and mixed by the band’s new guitarist, Justin Patry, at The Cold Northeast Recording Studios in Biddeford, ME, and mastered by Pat Keane at Pat Keane Mastering in Portland, ME.

TRAWL's "Shark Pinata & The Halo Singles" CD spent 10 consecutive weeks on the  Bull Moose local Top 10 Charts with four of those weeks at #1. Beyond the local chart, the CD spent its first week at #5 in overall sales at the Bull Moose network of record stores in the company of artists like Black Sabbath, Alice Cooper and The Pretty Reckless. The digital release has also been received well with over 20,000 Spotify streams in its first 4 months of release. 

The band returned to playing live shows in July 2021 at Aura (1000 Capacity) in Portland, ME supporting local rock giants Murcielago. TRAWL also collaborated with Yes Brewing in Westbrook, ME on their own beer, a "Mixed Berry Sour" which was available for a limited time at the brewery and was distributed across Maine. The band continued to play live shows in support of "Shark Pinata" through 2021 and began writing & recording new material in Winter 2021 which continued through Spring 2022. 

In January 2022, TRAWL supported the legendary Nonpoint on the Hampton Beach, NH date of their  'Ruthless' Tour. Shortly thereafter, the band amicably parted ways with Drummer Gary Marston. In the early spring 2022, longtime friend Adam Nichols joined the band on Drums and the band began working feverishly to prepare for spring shows and recording. 


On August 5, 2022, the band released their second EP titled "From the Murky Depths" EP on CD format. The CD was the top-selling CD at "Bull Moose Music" for 5 consecutive weeks and remained on the charts for 10 weeks. Bull Moose is a local chain of 10 brick-and-mortar record stores across Maine and New England. Beyond the local charts, the CD version reached #6 on release week in overall sales at the Bull Moose network alongside Primus, Soulfly and Metallica. The digital release of the EP on August 26, 2022, saw TRAWL gaining traction, most notably with their single "The Gold Standard" on Maine radio and playlists.  TRAWL performed shows across New England throughout 2022 in support of "From the Murky Depths" sharing the stage with bands like SUMO CYCO and RA.

TRAWL took on its largest opportunity to date, supporting thrash metal legends ANTHRAX and alongside BLACK LABEL SOCIETY and EXODUS at Cross Arena in Portland, ME, on February 2nd, 2023. This show helped the band to notably increase its fanbase, which set the course for 2023 to allow the band their own upcoming headlining show at Aura in Portland, ME (1000 Capacity) on June 30, 2023, which ended up being the EP release part for the bands "Cosmic Aquatic" EP.  


 On June 2nd, TRAWL released the "Cosmic Aquatic," EP which was the band's second in less than a year, resulting from the lineup feeling a surge of creativity and songwriting amidst the excitement and synergy of live shows in Fall 2022/Winter 2023. The EP was recorded by guitarist Justin Patry and Drummer Adam Nichols, Mixed by Jonathan Wyman (The Pretty Reckless, Rustic Overtones, Spose) and Mastered by Pat Keane (Murcielago, The Mallet Brothers, Bill Chinnock).  "Cosmic Aquatic" was recognized as the #1 best-selling local release of the year at Bull Moose record stores in 2023 (a network of 11 brick-and-mortar stores across Maine and New Hampshire. Beyond the local charts, the CD version reached #5 on release week in overall sales at the Bull Moose network alongside Avenged Sevenfold, Rancid, Roger Waters and more. 

With great momentum from the first half of 2023, TRAWL continued to have a banner year of live shows across New England on both regional and national bills, which included supporting acts like Black Stone Cherry and Polkadot Cadaver for multiple dates on their tours through New England as well as Taproot.  In the fall, the band partnered with Lost Valley Brewing for the release of a new beer named the TRAWL "Shark Attack Peanut Butter and Chocolate Porter" which was available for a limited time at the brewery and distributed across Maine.  

The band is currently in writing mode, working on new material through Winter 2024, and has begun to announce spring shows. TRAWL has plans to take its music to new states and continues to strive for new heights musically and commercially. Stay tuned for updates on shows, new music, and more. 

Subscribe Form

Stay up to date

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page